Note: The information below applies to M365 backups created with Redstor before 1 November 2022.
As part of our new pricing model, Microsoft 365 shared mailboxes will be backed up free of charge. (The exception is if OneDrive is also backed up, in which case the shared mailbox is billed as a M365 user (also known as a seat). More information can be found here.
In order for our system to read whether an existing mailbox is shared or not, the RedApp requires certain additional permissions to be granted.
If these permissions are not granted, nothing will change with your backups and recoveries, but any existing shared mailboxes will be charged as M365 users/seats until you grant the necessary permissions.
How to grant additional permissions
1. In all cases, you will be notified if you need to grant additional permissions. You will be notified in two places:
- At the top of your Microsoft 365 overview page, you will see a notification that certain backup sets require your attention. Click on View Backup Sets to see the affected backup sets, grouped by tenant. Click on a tenant name to see a list of the affected backup sets within it.
- If you open a backup set for which additional permissions are needed, you will see the option to update permissions at the top right. If this message shows only briefly and then disappears, it means the necessary permissions have already been granted and you do not need to take further action for this backup set.
From either of these notifications, you can click on Update Permissions to proceed.
2. You will need to authenticate with a M365 global admin user.
3. A list of additional permissions will be shown to you, which you need to accept.
4. You will then be taken back to the RedApp. If you have multiple tenants, you will need to accept the additional permissions for each of them.
Article is closed for comments.