In certain scenarios, such as users leaving your organisation or changes in your operational processes, you may need to delete cloud accounts, such as Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace, or machine accounts from the RedApp. To do this, follow the steps described below.
This article is about deleting accounts (cloud application seats or backed-up machines).
- If you need to delete a company, click here.
- If you need to delete a product, click here.
Deleting cloud accounts from the RedApp
If you need to delete specific cloud accounts from the RedApp, you need to deselect these user/s from each RedApp service separately. For example, if users are being removed from Microsoft 365, you will need to remove them from OneDrive, Exchange, SharePoint, and Teams, as applicable.
Note: If you are a Storage Platform Console user, you do not need to take any action on the Console to remove cloud accounts from the RedApp. Deleting a cloud account or backup set from the Console will not delete it from the RedApp.
To remove one or more users:
1. Open the backup set that contains the users you want to delete. In this case, a OneDrive backup set.
2. On the Backup selection tile, click Edit.
3. Deselect the necessary users and update the selection by clicking Save.
4. Go back and do the same for Exchange, SharePoint, and Teams (as applicable) until the specific users are deselected from all backup sets they were included in.
The removed users (accounts) will now be decommissioned, but their backed-up data will still be retained on the Redstor Storage Platform, as this may be necessary for legal reasons. You will therefore still be able to see these accounts and their last backup dates on the relevant backup set pages in the RedApp.
If this data does not need to be retained, please request that our support team remove these decommissioned accounts from the Platform as well by logging a ticket here.
Note: Storage of decommissioned accounts is billed at a reduced rate. Please speak to your account manager for more information.
To remove an entire backup set:
1. Open the relevant backup set.
2. Expand the menu and click Remove.
3. Confirm the action by clicking the Remove button.
4. Authenticate the action by entering the one-time code from your authenticator app. You will use the same authenticator app account as for RedApp logins.
The backup set will be deleted and will no longer be visible on the RedApp. The data in this backup set will not be retained on the Redstor Storage Platform and will therefore no longer be recoverable. If you are a Storage Platform Console user, please note that it may take a few minutes for the deletion to register on the Console.
Deleting machines from the RedApp
To delete a machine backup account from the RedApp, locate the machine in your RedApp backups. Expand its menu, and click Remove. You will need to confirm that you want to remove the machine. This will also delete the machine's account from the Redstor Storage Platform, which means the data on this machine will no longer be recoverable.
Article is closed for comments.