In September 2021, we introduced the ability to define Microsoft Exchange and OneDrive backup selection based on organisational groups. The new group-based model will coexist with the existing user-based model.
It is not compulsory for customers to switch to group-based selection. User-based selection is still possible and will be supported for the foreseeable future. However, please note that these are independent systems: if the same user is selected for backup through both the user-based and the group-based system, the user will be backed up twice and its data will be duplicated.
How to switch from user selection to group selection
If you wish to change from user-based to group-based backup selection, follow the steps below to ensure no disruption to backup regimes.
- Disable but retain the existing user-based backup set. This can be done from the RedApp on a per-user basis. This will ensure that existing user-based backups are still available for recovery during the transition to group-based backups.
- Create a new, group-based backup set, which will result in new backup accounts being created. These will co-exist with the existing accounts until the original (user-based) accounts are no longer within retention (as defined in the retention policy settings).
- Once retention has elapsed for the original user-based selections, these original accounts can then be safely deleted by removing the associated backup sets.
- Once all of these backup sets have been removed, you should have only accounts selected via group-based backup selection that are present and being protected.
For assistance or advice with regard to making changes to your backup selection, please contact email@example.com.