This is an edge case specific to legacy backup indexes and is usually due to a plugin that created entries in backup indexes which did not conform to the expected hierarchical structure. A known case where this can happen is when a Linux filesystem (case sensitive) was backed up from a Windows environment (case insensitive).
The following steps may resolve the problem.
- Obtain the relevant account's encryption key and make a dump of the backup indexes before and after conversion. The indexes created by conversion must be obtained before an IntegrityCheck deletes the converted indexes, which will happen at the end of a failed conversion. This will require placing the IntegrityDisabledUntil setting in the account's LocalSettings file (default location C:\ProgramData\Attix5 Pro\SS_Service\Data\[account GUID]) to prevent the IntegrityCheck from running for some time, allowing the converted indexes to remain. Note that the date value of the IntegrityDisabledUntil setting must be according to the server’s date configuration.
- Compare the index dumps to determine which files will be lost in conversion. If the files that are to be lost are insignificant, the verification step can be skipped to allow the conversion to pass without verification. To do this, either the VerifyConvertedBackups setting must be set to false on the StorageServer settings (although this will affect all conversions on the StorageServer), or VerifyConvertedBackups=false can be specified in the task file for the ConvertData task.
The best approach is to provide the required information to the development team to investigate the specific edge case for debugging purposes. This can lead to a permanent fix for the edge case. This is only an option if the account’s encryption key is supplied, along with the backup indexes and the account’s settings file found on the StorageServer.
Start backing up the machine with the the Redstor Pro ESE client to a new account, leaving the legacy backups unconverted and available for restore. When the new ESE backups are sufficient and the old backups are no longer needed, the old account can be deleted.
Please contact Support if you need assistance.