When restoring data with a Mac Backup Client (SE or DL), a warning is seen in the restore log similar to the following:
Message: 09:34:08 Restored /Users/John/Downloads/my_Image.png
Message: 09:34:08 Restoring directories
Warning: 09:34:08 Failed to restore security descriptor for file: /Users, reason: Operation not permitted: chmod
A limitation in the Mac Backup Client along with permissions allowed by the operating system for a user running the application prevents the Backup Client from modifying permissions.
The warning can be ignored because the files are restored regardless. However, permissions are not restored. (Bug 8168 has been logged to address this limitation.)
To re-set permissions manually, follow this guide as per Apple Support: Set permissions for items on your Mac
Old Article ID: 333
Posted: 05 Nov, 2015 by Van Rensburg J.