Copies of your most recent backups can be kept on a local machine in addition to those saved on the Storage Platform. This facilitates faster restores than would typically be experienced when the Storage Platform is remotely located. During the backup process, your data is streamed to the Storage Platform as usual but an additional stream is sent to the "local copy" location, essentially resulting in a duplicate. Details of this process can be seen in the normal Backup Log.
Enable this in your Backup Client under "Options and Settings".
How many copies can I keep?
Where can I keep my local copies?
What about disk space?
Are my normal backups safe when errors occur?
Can this be profiled from the Storage Platform?
How do I restore from a local backup copy?
Can I do a Full System Recovery from a local backup?
The maximum number of local copies is limited based on two factors:
- The retention preferences set under the Client's "Options and Settings"
- The relevant Account's Group's roll-up settings on the Storage Platform (i.e. the online backups)
The Client's local backup retention is subject to the Storage Platform's roll-up settings and online backups.
Example scenario: The Client is set to keep 6 copies. The Group on the Storage Platform is set to keep 3 backups, to roll up when 5 backups are reached, and to keep 1 roll-up:
- For backups 1 to 5, a local backup is kept each time i.e. 5 local copies, and 5 backups on the Storage Platform.
- After the 5th backup, a roll-up on the Storage Platform will reduce the number of online backups to 4 (i.e. 1 roll-up and 3 backups).
- After the 6th backup, you'll have 5 online backups (1 roll-up, 3 previous backups, plus 1 new backup).
- You would expect the Client to have kept a 6th local backup, however, the Client will consolidate (roll up) the 1st and 2nd local copies into one, to match the Storage Platforms count of 5 "online" backups.
- With backup 7, you'll have 6 local copies for a short time, however, this will again be consolidated back to 5 (the previously consolidated copies 1 and 2, with the addition of backup 3) at the next backup since the Storage Platform still maintains the a maximum of 5 online backups.
Note: After deactivating this setting, local backups will remain on the machine. If enabled again, they will gradually be removed as the retention window shifts with each new online backup.
- On the local machine
- On a network share (UNC path)
- On a removable drive
Take note that, depending on the size of the backup, several local copies can quickly consume available disk space.
The following factors affect the size of a local copy:
- Files larger than or equal to the small-file threshold of 1024 KB are kept in a common location known as "global storage". If a file is backed up that already exists in “global storage”, it is not stored again and only referenced to the copy already in “global storage” (deduplication).
Note: This is located in the local copy location's ".global" folder.
- Files that recur in multiple folders or are common between backups, and are smaller than the 1024 KB threshold, will have multiple copies stored in the local copy location (no deduplication).
Note: This is located in a date-labelled folder in the Account ID folder within the local copy location e.g. “\Local Copy\70b18fba-8e03-450b-a48d-24ac43d97d32\20170913121417”.
- Files are stored in compressed form and are also encrypted. Compression effectiveness depends on the file type and contents.
- Changed files are not patched between backups, instead they are backed up in full each time a change occurs.
- After each new backup, the oldest local copies are removed that fall outside the configured retention setting, and a new baseline backup is created ("local backup consolidation").
Example scenario for illustrative purposes only:
- 5 folders (20 files) are included in the Backup Selection, containing 10 large files ≥ 1MB (totalling 100 MB) and 10 small files < 1MB (totalling 7 MB)
- 2 large files are identical (10 MB each); 2 small files are identical (500 KB each)
- The local copy retention setting is 5
- From backups 1 to 3 no data has changed, so the total space is: 100 MB - 10 MB + 7 MB = 97 MB - 5% compression = 92.15 MB (20 files)
(Remember, one of the identical large files ≥ 1MB has been deduplicated.)
- On the 4th backup 3 changes occur, one of the large files of 10 MB has changed and two identical small files of 600 KB have been added: (10 MB + 1.2 MB) = 11.2 MB - 8% compression = 10.304 MB + 92.15 MB = 102.454 MB (now 22 files)
(Remember, changed files are stored in full and small files are not deduplicated. Compression effectiveness varies.)
Suggested Size Calculation
Because of the above, the Size calculation (on the Backup Client's toolbar) will not provide an accurate indication of the size of the local copy.
Instead, the size of the local copy’s date-labelled folder on disk can be used to determine each local copy’s size e.g. “\Local Copy\70b18fba-8e03-450b-a48d-24ac43d97d32\20170913121417”.
Otherwise, use the example above as a guide to calculate the size of a local copy.
- When the local copy setting is disabled, existing local copies will not be deleted.
- When a full Snapshot backup has been done but not yet imported on the Storage Platform, the next backup with a local copy will ignore the Snapshot and create an incremental copy based on the previous backup.
Issues such as lack of free disk space or folder permissions that have changed will prevent local copies from being saved. Unless problems are encountered when streaming your data to the Storage Platform, your normal backups are safe regardless of the success of the local backup.
For other errors see these logs:
- Saving local copies: Errors are logged in the Backup Log when local copies are saved.
- Consolidating older local copies: Local copies are consolidated to maintain the retention settings (see above). Problems with consolidation are logged in a seperate log indicated in gray.
Backup administrators can profile local backup-related settings from the Storage Platform Console.
Find the backups in the Restore tab as you normally would but look for the dates listed under "Local" from the Backup list.
Currently, when the "Full System Backup" switch is enabled on the Backup Client, your local backups will contain the backed up system data. However, this can only be restored on a file-basis i.e. a Full System Recovery cannot be done from a local backup.